Why. If there is data, then go forward, build the headers and loop through the content, etc. This function returns false if the variable exists and is not empty, otherwise it returns true. Then bind it to the gridview. The result for empty ($registry->notEmpty) is a bit unexpeced as the value is obviously set and non-empty. Coolist is quite right, of course. Copyright © 2021 Tutorial Republic. Questions: I am new to MySQL. If you need to execute sevaral SQL commands in a row (usually called batcg SQL) using PHP you canot use mysql_query() since it can execute single command only. To avoid this, it is better to check whether an array is empty or not beforehand. "empty": "not empty"); //result empty For those of you using MySQL, if you have a table with a column of decimal type, when you do a SELECT, your data will be returned as a string, so you'll need to do apply intval() before testing for empty. like, Even though I will likely limit my database to MySQL, I prefer to write portable code, so rowCount() is out. PostgreSQL query result resource, returned by pg_query(), pg_query_params() or pg_execute() (among others). or share your feedback to help us improve. Return Value: FALSE if variable exists and is not empty, TRUE otherwise: Return Type: Boolean: PHP Version: 4.0+ PHP Changelog: PHP 5.5: Support for expressions, not only variables PHP 5.4: Non-numeric offsets of strings returns TRUE Example. Posted by: Vail Date: October 21, 2005 12:31PM I have a function called groupexists(), and it is supposed to return 1 if an the group exists, and 0 if it does not. How to detect an empty result. There are a couple of ways that you can check for an empty result set. Connect with us on Facebook and Twitter for the latest updates. Msg#:1277974 . Hi, As you’re using PDO, you can’t use the mysql_* or mysqli_ functions to count the returned rows. The result can still be empty even if it was succesful. Instead, check the the column count. In this example we will examine the above